Congress of the United States House of Representatives

Washington, DC 20515-2201

March 18, 2020

The Honorable Jovita Carranza Administrator Small Business Administration Washington D.C. 20515

Dear Administrator Carranza:

As Members of Michigan's congressional delegation, we write to support the State of Michigan's request for an Economic Injury Disaster declaration from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). To fully confront the health and economic impacts of COVID-19, it is important for our state and nation to come together and safeguard the current and future wellbeing of small businesses.

Small businesses across Michigan are making incredible sacrifices to "flatten the curve" and curb the spread of COVID-19. Employers, entrepreneurs, and others have closed their doors and limited their services to protect our communities, but we cannot allow the COVID-19 threat to permanently cripple or shutter the countless vibrant small businesses which drive Michigan's economy and support workers throughout the state. An Economic Injury Disaster declaration will inject much-needed liquidity through loans of up to \$2 million for the eligible small businesses acting to keep our constituents safe and healthy. Recognizing the severity of COVID-19, Congress passed legislation earlier this month improving SBA's ability to carry out these disaster loans, and we must effectively and efficiently administer this assistance to Michigan.

On behalf of our state's small businesses and the hardworking Michiganders they employ, we urge SBA to issue this declaration and work closely with the State of Michigan. Thank you for your attention to this urgent matter.

Sincerely,

Yack Bergman
Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress Fred Upton / Member of Congress

Brenda Lawrence Member of Congress Bill Huizenga
Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Andy Levin V
Member of Congress

Paul Mitchell Member of Congress Tim Walberg
Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress John Moolenaar Member of Congress Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress